2014 German Grand Prix starting grid

2014 German Grand Prix starting grid


Yesterday’s German Grand Prix qualifying session saw Nico Rosberg take his fifth pole position of the year, after his team-mate Lewis Hamilton crashed out following a brake disc failure in Q1.

The German will line up at the front of the field for today’s race, with the Williams duo of Valtteri Bottas and Felipe Massa in second and third on the Hockenheimring grid. McLaren’s Kevin Magnussen, Daniel Ricciardo and Sebastian Vettel will be next up.

Fernando Alonso could only manage seventh in qualifying, finishing ahead of Daniil Kvyat, Nico Hulkenberg and Sergio Perez in the top 10 shoot-out. Jenson Button and Kimi Raikkonen just missed out on Q3 and will start 11th and 12th. Hamilton will start down in 20th after a gearbox change.

Here is the grid for the German Grand Prix:

1Nico RosbergMercedes
2Valtteri BottasWilliams
3Felipe MassaWilliams
4Kevin MagnussenMcLaren
5Daniel RicciardoRed Bull
6Sebastian VettelRed Bull
7Fernando AlonsoFerrari
8Daniil KvyatToro Rosso
9Nico HulkenbergForce India
10Sergio PerezForce India
11Jenson ButtonMcLaren
12Kimi RaikkonenFerrari
13Jean-Eric VergneToro Rosso
14Romain GrosjeanLotus
15Adrian SutilSauber
16Esteban GutierrezSauber
17Jules BianchiMarussia
18Pastor MaldonadoLotus
19Kamui KobayashiCaterham
20Lewis HamiltonMercedes
21Max ChiltonMarussia
22Marcus Ericsson*Caterham

*Starting from pit lane and must serve 10-second stop/go penalty within first three laps, as the team failed to cover and seal car after qualifying.

Image courtesy of Octane Photographic