Hamilton sets the pace in second practice

Hamilton sets the pace in second practice


Lewis Hamilton ended the second practice session of the German Grand Prix weekend at the top of the timesheets, from his team-mate Nico Rosberg and Red Bull Racing’s Daniel Ricciardo.

Temperatures increased considerably for the second practice session, which took place under clear and sunny skies. Marcus Ericsson, Kamui Kobayashi and Esteban Gutierrez were the first drivers to venture out onto the circuit after a relatively quiet start.

However, it soon picked up pace with Ericsson setting the first timed lap, with a 1m25.361. However, the Swedish driver’s session was heavily delayed just a few minutes later after he was forced to stop his CT05 on the run to turn two with an oil pressure problem.

Kevin Magnussen briefly held the top spot early on, before Kimi Raikkonen moved to the front. Drivers completed their first runs on the soft Pirelli compound, before moving on to the option tyre mid-way through the session.

By that time the Mercedes duo had jumped to the top two positions. Rosberg was fastest on the prime tyre but it was Hamilton who set the pace on the option compound. Ericsson managed to return to the track with half an hour remaining.

The focus then switched to race runs on the super-soft tyre, meaning there was very little movement on the timesheets in the final part of the session.

Hamilton set the pace with his best option compound lap, which was a 1m18.341, from Rosberg – who was just 0.024 seconds slower than the Brit – and Ricciardo. Raikkonen was fourth for Ferrari and Kevin Magnussen completed the top five.

Massa was sixth and finished just ahead of McLaren’s Jenson Button. Vettel finished nine tenths behind Rosberg in eighth, with Fernando Alonso and Valtteri Bottas – completing his opening session of the weekend after Susie Wolff took over his car in first practice – rounding out the top 10.

Adrian Sutil was 11th, with Daniil Kvyat and Sergio Perez in 12th and 13th respectively. Nico Hulkenberg and Jean-Eric Vergne were next up, followed by the Lotus duo of Pastor Maldonado and Romain Grosjean.

Esteban Gutierrez, Jules Bianchi, Ericsson, Max Chilton and Kobayashi – who lost an hour of track time after stopping with smoke pouring from his Caterham CT05 – completed the timesheets.

1Lewis HamiltonMercedes1:18.34138
2Nico RosbergMercedes1:18.365+0.02439
3Daniel RicciardoRed Bull1:18.443+0.10235
4Kimi RaikkonenFerrari1:18.887+0.54638
5Kevin Magnussen McLaren1:18.960+0.61940
6Felipe MassaWilliams1:19.024+0.68336
7Jenson ButtonMcLaren1:19.221+0.88040
8Sebastian VettelRed Bull1:19.248+0.90735
9Fernando AlonsoFerrari1:19.329+0.98832
10Valtteri BottasWilliams1:19.385+1.04434
11Adrian SutilSauber1:19.417+1.07641
12Daniil KvyatToro Rosso1:19.452+1.11127
13Sergio PerezForce India1:19.581+1.24028
14Nico HulkenbergForce India1:19.593+1.25232
15Jean-Eric VergneToro Rosso1:19.760+1.41932
16Pastor MaldonadoLotus1:20.158+1.81735
17Romain GrosjeanLotus1:20.358+2.01735
18Esteban GutierrezSauber1:20.504+2.16340
19Jules BianchiMarussia1:21.328+2.89731
20Marcus EricssonCaterham1:21.870+3.52921
21Max ChiltonMarussia1:21.898+3.55728
22Kamui KobayashiCaterham1:23.728+5.38712

Image courtesy of Octane Photographic