Former F1 drivers join Formula E drivers’ club

Former F1 drivers join Formula E drivers’ club


0175LW7D5853Three more former Formula 1 drivers have joined the drivers’ club for the inaugural FIA Formula E championship, which is set to get underway in China later this year.

Formula E is the latest attempt to make electric racing widespread and more accessible for the fans, and since receiving FIA backing has gone from strength to strength. Led by CEO Alejandro Agag, the series is set to get underway later this year in Beijing and will race across the winter.

Instead of a ‘normal’ driver market, Formula E has created a “drivers’ club”, from which drivers are selected to race for the teams that have signed up for the series. It had already attracted some big names including Vitantonio Liuzzi, Sebastien Buemi, Narain Karthikeyan and even Ben Collins, who once served as The Stig on BBC’s Top Gear.

However today, the series made its biggest announcement to date as Sam Bird, Jarno Trulli, Nick Heidfeld and Jerome d’Ambrosio were confirmed as members of the drivers’ club.

To read the full announcement, visit Rumble Strip News by clicking here.

The Trulli Train might be returning to a TV screen near you…

Image courtesy of Octane Photographic.


Comments are closed.