Red Bull and McLaren confirm driver schedules for final test

Red Bull and McLaren confirm driver schedules for final test

Red Bull Racing and McLaren have confirmed their driver line-ups for the final winter test of the 2014 season. 0888CB1D1496

Pre-season preparations will resume at the Bahrain International Circuit this week, giving teams one final chance to run their 2014 cars before the first round of the year in Australia.

Red Bull Racing endured a troubled second test in Bahrain last week and managed just 115 laps with the new RB10. The Milton Keynes-based outfit will be hoping for a more productive final test.

Daniel Ricciardo will be at the wheel of the Renault-powered car on Thursday and Friday. Four-time champion Sebastian Vettel will take over driving duties on Saturday and Sunday.

McLaren’s schedule has also been confirmed. 2014 rookie Kevin Magnussen announced on Twitter that he will be driving the team’s MP4-29 on the first and third days of the test.

Jenson Button, who is the most experienced driver on this year’s grid, will drive the car on the second and fourth days.

Red Bull Second Bahrain Test Schedule

Thursday 27th February – Daniel Ricciardo
Friday 28th February – Daniel Ricciardo
Saturday 1st March - Sebastian Vettel
Sunday 2nd March - Sebastian Vettel

McLaren Second Bahrain Test Schedule

Thursday 27th February – Kevin Magnussen
Friday 28th February – Jenson Button
Saturday 1st March – Kevin Magnussen
Sunday 2nd March – Jenson Button

Image courtesy of Octane Photographic

Jack Leslie

Jack Leslie

Jack Leslie is a freelance motorsport and Formula 1 journalist. He has been part of the Richland F1 team since the very start and made his F1 paddock debut for the website at the 2014 Austrian Grand Prix. Jack also writes for Car Throttle, RumbleStripNews, Formula1Blog, PureF1 and F1 Plus, as well as running a popular blog.