FIA Announce Driver Numbers

FIA Announce Driver Numbers


The FIA announced the permanent numbers that the 22 drivers of the 2014 season have chosen. Several were already known, while other were kept secret by the drivers and their teams, but all of them provide a bit of intrigue as we await the start of pre-season testing.

0824LW1D6106Sebastian Vettel has opted to bear the number “1” for this season, as he is the reigning world champion, but should his impressive championship run end this season, the German has chosen “5” as his permanent number. Nico Rosberg has chosen “6” in reverence to his father who won the 1982 championship with the same number.

McLaren rookie Kevin Magnussen announced via his new twitter account that he had chosen the number “20” as his permanent number for his career, making some historical connections back to drivers of Mclaren’s past, such as Peter Gethin. His teammate, Jenson Button, chose “22”, the number he ran with during his championship-winning season with Brawn GP in 2009, while Lewis Hamilton chose “44”, his old number during his karting days.

Nico Hulkenberg chose perhaps one of the most intriguing numbers of all, 27. The young German has been linked with Ferrari for the past few years, and his choice of number would be almost too good to be true should that move be completed in the near future. Valtteri Bottas chose “77”, which will no doubt become somewhat of a signature for the Williams team on Twitter with the hashtag “#BO77AS”.

The oddest choice of them all, however, comes from Pastor Maldonado with “13”. For years this number has been avoided given its superstitious connections, but Maldonado has broken convention regardless. A bold move for a driver not exactly riddled with good omens.

Additionally, Max Chilton has not chosen a number most likely for the fact that the team has not confirmed him at the team for the 2014 season. The FIA seems to think otherwise. One may notice the Briton’s twitter bio to see that he makes no mention of the fact he drives for Marussia, or indeed any Formula One team.

Full list of drivers and numbers:

#   Driver             Team/Car
1   Sebastian Vettel   Red Bull-Renault
3   Daniel Ricciardo   Red Bull-Renault
6   Nico Rosberg       Mercedes
7   Kimi Raikkonen     Ferrari
8   Romain Grosjean    Lotus-Renault
11  Sergio Perez       Force India-Mercedes
13  Pastor Maldonado   Lotus-Renault
14  Fernando Alonso    Ferrari
17  Jules Bianchi      Marussia-Ferrari
19  Felipe Massa       Williams-Mercedes
20  Kevin Magnussen    McLaren-Mercedes
21  Esteban Gutierrez  Sauber-Ferrari
22  Jenson Button      McLaren-Mercedes
25  Jean-Eric Vergne   Toro Rosso-Renault
26  Daniil Kvyat       Toro Rosso-Renault
27  Nico Hulkenberg    Force India-Mercedes
44  Lewis Hamilton     Mercedes
77  Valtteri Bottas    Williams-Mercedes
99  Adrian Sutil       Sauber-Ferrari


Comments are closed.