Double points to be awarded at F1 season finale for 2014

0236CB1D4010From 2014, double points will be awarded for the final round of the 2014 Formula One season, in an effort to prolong the championship battles.

The decision was agreed upon by the F1 Strategy Group, alongside the Formula One Commission in a meeting on Monday in Paris and will become effective immediately, following the mandate handed to the two bodies to make rule changes by the World Motorsport Council last week.

A statement from the FIA reads: “Double drivers’ and constructors’ points will be awarded at the final race of the Formula One season in order to maximise focus on the Championship until the end of the campaign.”

If in effect in recent year’s this system would have seen Fernando Alonso clinch the drivers’ title in 2012 from Sebastian Vettel, while Felipe Massa would have been crowned champion in 2008, at the expense of Lewis Hamilton, following the Brazilian’s victory in the final race of the season.

Image courtesy of Octane Photographic 

Facebook Twitter Email