FIA confirm official F1 2014 calendar

The official 2014 Formula 1 calendar has been confirmed by the FIA after a meeting of the World Motor Sport Council in Paris. World © Octane Photographic Ltd.

Unsurprisingly, the Grand Prix of America in New Jersey and the proposed return to Mexico are not included on the calendar. The Korean Grand Prix, which has been held since 2010, has also been dropped to slim the schedule down to 19 races.

F1 boss Bernie Ecclestone expects the race in New Jersey to join the calendar in 2015, saying it has only been postponed.

However, the Austrian Grand Prix will return to the F1 schedule for the first time since 2003 and the Russian Grand Prix will debut in mid-October.

The season will kick-off on the 16th of March in Australia and will end in Abu Dhabi on November 23rd. It will include four back-to-back races, including Japan and Russia, and a four-week break between the races in Hungary and Belgium.

2014 F1 schedule:

16th March: Australian Grand Prix

30th March: Malaysian Grand Prix

6th April: Bahrain Grand Prix

20th April: Chinese Grand Prix

11th May: Spanish Grand Prix

25th May: Monaco Grand Prix

8th June: Canadian Grand Prix

22nd June: Austrian Grand Prix

6th July: British Grand Prix

20th July: German Grand Prix

27th July: Hungarian Grand Prix

24th August: Belgian Grand Prix

7th September: Italian Grand Prix

21st September: Singapore Grand Prix

5th October: Japanese Grand Prix

12th October: Russian Grand Prix

2nd November: United States Grand Prix

9th November: Brazilian Grand Prix

23rd November: Abu Dhabi Grand Prix

Image courtesy of Octane Photographic

Facebook Twitter Email